Supporting Freethinkers With Mental Illness

“Have you tried yoga?” “You just need to pray harder.” “You should try this herbal supplement.” People with mental illnesses get advice like this all the time. Although it’s not particularly helpful to anyone, with skeptics and atheists it’s especially misguided. What should we say to freethinkers dealing with mental illness? How do we support them in an evidence-based way? How can we use skepticism and critical thinking to reduce the stigma of mental illness? How can we improve access to treatment that actually works?

With Miri Mogilevsky, Kate Donovan, Brendan Murphy, Olivia James, Ed Cara, and Drama.

Starting at 11 PM CDT!

Supporting Freethinkers With Mental Illness

2 thoughts on “Supporting Freethinkers With Mental Illness

  1. constantinople28 says:

    I just recently wrote a blog entry on how stigma has effected me so far. I know that my actions didn’t do well for the stigma of mental illness, but I did have it affect me and a very bad way. I do feel a changed person since this event and I am still recovering from the stigma that was placed on me. Thank you for shedding a light on the stigma of mental illness!

  2. Bhaal says:

    Great discussion, I found it very informative and I feel positive about addressing these issues in both myself and others.

Leave a Reply

